SEYMOUR COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD REGULAR MEETING

The regular meeting of the Board of Directors of Seymour Community School District was held on July 19, 2021, in the Board Room of the Seymour Community School.

President Justin Keller called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

Present were members Tom Rembe, Justin Keller, Clint Housh, Dan Furlin, Jr. and Drew Power. Also present were Mr. Breon, Shannon Starr, Stacy McGriff, and Mark Sprague.

Dan Furlin, Jr. made a motion to approve the agenda. Tom Rembe seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Tom Rembe made a motion to approve the minutes from the previous meetings. Drew Power seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Dan Furlin, Jr. made a motion to approve the bills for payment. Tom Rembe seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

The Board of Directors of Seymour Community School District reviewed the recapitulation of receipts and expenses for all funds for fiscal year 2021 as presented.

Justin Keller welcomed visitors. There were no public comments.

Board discussion items included dumping fill dirt from the street paving project on the SW corner of school property and the groundwork for the playground.

Mr. Breon reported on the possibility of hiring another custodian making three full-time positions.

Mrs. Starr reported school registration will be held on August 5, 2021, from 7:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., summer school was a success, and she has been working on ordering items and looking at curriculum for next school year.

There was no CSIAC committee update to discuss.

An open enrollment request was received for Trice DeVore to attend the Wayne CSD for the 2021-2022 school year. The request was approved as it was filed timely.

An open enrollment request was received for Whitley Davis to attend our district from the Albia CSD for the 2021-2022 school year. The request was approved as it was filed timely.

Open enrollment requests were received for Mason and Emily Black to attend the Wayne CSD for the 2021-2022 school year. After discussion, Tom Rembe made a motion to deny the requests as they were not filed timely and do not meet the qualifications for good cause. Clint Housh seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

The following ESSER projects were discussed: 1) Baseball lighting and getting a quote for cost, 2) DLR invoice and the design flaw in the 3rd floor unit. 3) New lockers and getting a quote for cost. 4) Clint Housh made a motion to approve the proposal from CEC in the amount of \$60,227.19 for the interactive learning center improvements. Tom Rembe seconded the motion. All voted in favor. 5) Drew Power made a motion to approve the proposal including the advanced support response and labor coverage from CEC in the amount of \$42,635.80 for the gym projector. Tom Rembe seconded the motion. The vote was as follows: Ayes: Tom Rembe, Dan Furlin, Jr., Justin Keller, and Drew Power. Nays: Clint Housh. 6) Stacy McGriff gave a presentation on the new school website and the improved warrior logo. Also discussed was staff email and security and a soft launch of the website in the next few days.

Tom Rembe made a motion to approve the Seymour Herald as the District official newspaper for the 2021-2022 school year. Dan Furlin, Jr. seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Drew Power made a motion to approve Mollie Banks as the District Board Secretary/Treasurer for the 2021-2022 school year. Dan Furlin, Jr. seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Tom Rembe made a motion to approve Ahlers & Cooney Law Firm as official school lawyer for the 2021-2022 school year. Dan Furlin, Jr. seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Drew Power made a motion to approve Corydon State Bank as school depository for the 2021-2022 school year. Tom Rembe seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Tom Rembe made a motion to continue Peoples Bank as depository for the school nutrition fund. Drew Power seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

The following milk bid was received for services for the 2021-2022 school year:

| \frac{1}{2} \text{ pint 1\% milk} \ \ \frac{1}{2} \text{ pint skim} \ \ \ \frac{1}{2} \text{ pint skim chocolate} \]

Anderson Erickson \\$.2803 \\$ \\$.2713 \\$ \\$.2903

Tom Rembe made a motion to approve the bid from Anderson Erickson and raise the price of milk to \$.35 for the 2021-2022 school year. Dan Furlin, Jr. seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

There were no handbooks presented for approval.

Drew Power made a motion to approve the first reading of Board Policy 722 School Bus Safety Instruction. Dan Furlin, Jr. seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Drew Power made a motion to approve the resignation of Trevor Banks as head football coach. Dan Furlin, Jr. seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Tom Rembe made a motion to approve the verbal resignation of Dorothy Wilcox as teacher associate. Drew Power seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Tom Rembe made a motion to approve the hire of Dorothy Wilcox as custodian for the 2021-2022 school year. Dan Furlin, Jr. seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Drew Power made a motion to approve the hire of Dennis Whitlow as At-Risk Coordinator, Head Football and JH Track Coach for the 2021-2022 school year. Tom Rembe seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Dan Furlin, Jr. made a motion to approve Stan Maddy as a volunteer assistant coach for the 2021-2022 school year. Tom Rembe seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Drew Power made a motion to approve Caleb Housh as a volunteer assistant coach for the 2021-2022 school year. Clint Housh seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Upcoming events noted were new teachers will report on August 16 and school begins on August 23, 2021.

Mark Sprague commented on school curriculum and job training for students.

There being no further business, Tom Rembe made a motion to adjourn at 8:32 p.m. Drew Power seconded the motion. Carried unanimously.

BOARD PRESIDENT	
BOARD SECRETARY	