SEYMOUR COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD REGULAR MEETING

The regular meeting of the Board of Directors of Seymour Community School District was held on June 19, 2023, in the Board room of the Seymour Community School.

President Justin Keller called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

Members present were Dan Furlin, Jr., Drew Power, Sarah Carter-Jones, and Justin Keller. Missy Liggett arrived at 6:37 p.m. Also present were Mr. Breon, Jamie Houser, and Shannon Starr. Breanna McGill arrived at 6:38 p.m.

Dan Furlin, Jr. made a motion to approve the agenda. Sarah Carter-Jones seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Dan Furlin, Jr. made a motion to approve the minutes from the previous meeting. Sarah Carter-Jones seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Drew Power made a motion to approve the bills for payment. Sarah Carter-Jones seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

The District financial reports were reviewed.

President Justin Keller welcomed visitors. Breanna McGill addressed the Board concerning the school nurse being reduced to one day per week.

Board discussion items included the possibility of a standing agreement for sports sharing.

Mr. Breon had the following for Administration discussion: 1) Distributed a list of students who are open enrolled in and open enrolled out along with a list of students who have moved out of the District. 2) Provided a sample calendar to begin the conversation of a four-day week for the 2024-2025 school year.

Mrs. Houser reported on the following: 1) The SRI report has been certified and work continues on the CTE and others that are due by the end of the month. 2) Reported on a grant opportunity for up to five fellowship spots for associates/paraeducators for mental health training. 3) A Behavioral Interventionalist teacher has been sent to Life Space Training. 4) The District needs to purchase new History books and getting a quote to bring to the Board for consideration. 5) Partnering with the Assembly of God Church and Wayne County Public Health on offering free physicals, haircuts, and backpacks with free school supplies on August 19, 2023. 6) School registration for the 2023-2024 school year will be held on August 3, 2023, from 7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Mrs. Starr distributed a bid for a concrete track around the playground. This will complete the playground project. A bid in the amount of \$9,500 from CPB Construction was discussed. Drew Power made a motion to approve the bid. Dan Furlin, Jr. seconded the motion. All voted in favor. Mrs. Starr also distributed a current daycare pricing sheet and rates for surrounding providers for discussion. Proposed changes to help alleviate the deficit in the Day Care Fund will be brought back to the Board for consideration.

The first CSIAC meeting of the 2023-2024 school year will be held in September 2023. One of the topics to be discussed will be a four-day school week.

An open enrollment request was received for Scarlet Marshall to attend our District from the Centerville CSD for the 2023-2024 school year.

Mr. Breon reported that building projects in progress included improvements to the boy's restroom, gravel for the parking lots, and the floors will be waxed next month.

Drew Power made a motion to approve the end of fiscal year expenditures. Dan Furlin, Jr. seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Drew Power made a motion to approve the insurance proposal for FY 24 in the amount of \$93,809.48 from EMC Insurance. Dan Furlin, Jr. seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Mrs. Houser distributed a copy of the Secondary Handbook for Board members to review for possible approval at next month's meeting.

Drew Power made a motion to approve the transfer of \$25,000 from the General Fund to the Day Care Fund. Dan Furlin, Jr. seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Dan Furlin, Jr. made a motion to approve the resignation of Lisa Aslesen. Drew Power seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Dan Furlin, Jr. made a motion to approve the resignation of Heather Sharp. Drew Power seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Drew Power made a motion to approve the resignation of Devon Sharp. Sarah Carter-Jones seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Drew Power made a motion to approve the resignation of Anthony Boggs. Sarah Carter-Jones seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Drew Power made a motion to approve the hire of Derick Jones as Transportation Director/Building Maintenance Coordinator. Dan Furlin, Jr. seconded the motion. The vote was as follows: Ayes: Dan Furlin, Jr., Missy Liggett, Drew Power, Justin Keller. Nays: None. Abstain: Sarah Carter-Jones.

Dan Furlin, Jr. made a motion to approve the hire of Karissa Empson as Custodian. Sarah Carter-Jones seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Drew Power made a motion to approve the hire of Charles Moody as Custodian. Dan Furlin, Jr. seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Drew Power made a motion to approve the hire of Laura Miller as Head Cook. Dan Furlin, Jr. seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Sarah Carter-Jones made a motion to approve the hire of Roxie Clinkenbeard as Cook. Drew Power seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Dan Furlin, Jr. made a motion to approve the hire of Mercedes Stickler as Day Care Associate. Sarah Carter-Jones seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Drew Power made a motion to approve the hire of Josh Crawford as Teacher for the 2023-2024 school year. Dan Furlin, Jr. seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Missy Liggett made a motion to approve the hire of Kimberly Stonehouse as Teacher for the 2023-2024 school year. Drew Power seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Drew Power made a motion to approve the sharing agreement with Wayne County Public Health for the 2023-2024 school year. Dan Furlin, Jr. seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Dan Furlin, Jr. made a motion to approve the IHCC Articulation agreement for the 2023-2024 school year. Missy Liggett seconded the motion All voted in favor.

Upcoming events noted were school starts on August 23, 2023.

Items for the next Board meeting to be held on July 17, 2023, include discuss and possibly approve a sports sharing agreement, day care fees, and the Secondary Student Handbook.

There being no further business, Drew Power made a motion to adjourn at 8:08 p.m. Missy Liggett seconded the motion. Carried unanimously.

BOARD PRESIDENT, JUSTIN KELLER

BOARD SECRETARY, MOLLIE BANKS