SEYMOUR COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD REGULAR MEETING

The regular meeting of the Board of Directors of Seymour Community School District was held on December 18, 2023, in the Board room of the Seymour Community School.

President Justin Keller called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

Members present were Sarah Carter-Jones, Dan Furlin, Jr., Drew Power, Missy Liggett, and Justin Keller. Also present were Mr. Breon, Scott Valentine, Denny Whitlow, Trevor Sherrard, Whitney Hornaday, Caleb Christine, Vicky Decker, Ali Enright and Senior students Hunter Roberts, Jami Trimble, and Mason Lund.

Drew Power made a motion to approve the agenda with the following additions: 1) Athletic Director Report. 2) Official Rate of Pay. Item #18 was moved in order up to follow item #5. Dan Furlin, Jr. seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Dan Furlin, Jr. made a motion to approve the minutes from the previous meeting. Sarah Carter-Jones seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Drew Power made a motion to approve the bills for payment. Missy Liggett seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

The District financial reports were reviewed.

President Justin Keller welcomed visitors. There were no public comments.

There were no Board discussion items.

Mr. Breon had the following for Administration discussion: 1) A joint meeting with the Mormon Trail CSD Board of Directors needs to be planned. February 12, 2024, at 7:30 p.m. at the Mormon Trail CSD was the time and date set. 2) The 2024-2025 Master Calendar will need to be approved and discussion on the 4 or 5 day week and changes suggested around holidays will take place.

There were no Principal reports this month.

Another community meeting will be held January 17, 2024, to discuss the possible 4 day school week.

Dan Furlin, Jr. made a motion to approve the official rate of pay of \$130 for basketball games. Sarah Carter-Jones seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Dan Furlin, Jr. made a motion to accept the resignation of Brad Breon effective June 30, 2024. Drew Power seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Dan Furlin, Jr. made a motion at 6:44 p.m. to adjourn the retiring Board of Directors. Sarah Carter-Jones seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Superintendent Brad Breon called the meeting of the new Board of Directors to order at 6:49 p.m. All members were present.

The official abstract of votes from the county auditor were read by Mr. Breon and acknowledged by the Board:

Whitney Hornaday – 175 Trevor Sherrard – 157 Moriah Liggett – 133 Dan Furlin, Jr. – 107 Quinten Merritt – 92 Devon Sharp – 51 Heidi Lancaster – 38 Deanna Parham – 14 Scattering – 3

Superintendent Brad Breon administered the Oath of Office to newly elected Board members Missy Liggett, Trevor Sherrard, and Whitney Hornaday.

Superintendent Brad Breon asked for nominations for Board President for the 2023-2024 school year.

Trevor Sherrard nominated Drew Power. Missy Liggett seconded the motion. Whitney Hornaday nominated Sarah Carter-Jones. Missy Liggett seconded the motion. Drew Power made a motion for nominations to cease. Trevor Sherrard seconded the motion. All voted in favor. The vote was as follows: Sarah Carter-Jones three votes and Drew Power two votes.

Sarah Carter-Jones, newly elected President of the Board, asked for nominations for Vice President. Drew Power nominated Trevor Sherrard. Missy Liggett seconded the motion. Trevor Sherrard nominated Drew Power. Whitney Hornaday seconded the motion. Sarah Carter-Jones nominated Missy Liggett. Drew Power seconded the motion. Drew Power made a motion for nominations to cease. Trevor Sherrard seconded the motion. The vote was as follows: Missy Liggett three votes and Drew Power two votes.

Drew Power made a motion to set the time and place of the regular Board meetings at 6:30 p.m. on the third Monday of the month in the Board Room of the Seymour Community School District. Sarah Carter-Jones seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Three Seniors in attendance were interested in Senior Work Release:

- 1) Mason Lund addressed the Board to discuss details of his employment with Lockridge, Inc., and request work release for the second semester. Drew Power made a motion to approve the request. Whitney Hornaday seconded the motion. All voted in favor.
- 2) Jami Trimble addressed the Board to discuss details of her employment with Bob's² and request work release for the second semester. Whitney Hornaday made a motion to approve the request. Trevor Sherrard seconded the motion. All voted in favor.
- 3) Hunter Roberts addressed the Board to discuss details of his employment on his family farm and request work release for the second semester. Missy Liggett made a motion to approve the request. Drew Power seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Open enrollment requests were received for Avegale and Emelia Thompson to attend our District from the Wayne CSD.

Open enrollment requests were received for Jacob and Joshua DeRueter to attend our District from the Centerville CSD.

Mr. Breon reported that the Iowa Safety Grant has been submitted and awaiting approval. If approved, grant monies would be used to update security cameras, entrances, safety lights and monitors.

Trevor Sherrard moved to approve request to the School Budget Review Committee (SBRC) for Modified Supplemental Amount and Supplemental Aid for the 2024-2025 Dropout Prevention Program in the amount of \$43,922 for expenditures necessary to implement the 2024-2025 At-Risk and Dropout Prevention program plans as approved by the Seymour CSD School Board. Missy Liggett seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken with the following votes cast:

Ayes: Trevor Sherrard, Drew Power, Sarah Carter-Jones, Whitney Hornaday, Missy Liggett.

Nays: None

A copy of the District severance retirement program was distributed. The Board will need to discuss whether they want to provide early retirement for the 2023-2024 school year. A list of those who qualify, if offered, will be brought to the Board at next month's meeting.

Missy Liggett made a motion to approve the hire of Caitlin Williams as Associate for the 2023-2024 school year. Drew Power seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Trevor Sherrard made a motion to approve a raise of \$1.50 per hour for the cooks for the 2023-2024 school year. Drew Power seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Drew Power made a motion to approve a \$5,000 raise in wage for Trevor Cormeny, Technology Coordinator, for the 2023-2024 school year. Missy Liggett seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

An upcoming event noted was Christmas break begins December 22, 2023.

Items for the next regular meeting of the Board to be held on January 15, 2024, include severance retirement for 2023-2024 and the Master Calendar.

There being no further business, Drew Power made a motion to adjourn at 7:33 p.m. Trevor Sherrard seconded the motion. Carried unanimously.

SARAH CARTER-JONES, BOARD PRESIDENT
MOLLIE BANKS BOADD SECDETADV